Connect with Roma the Eternal City

Sign up our newsletter

Get more inspiration, tips and exclusive itineraries in Rome


Arcibasilica di San Giovanni in Laterano

This is the city’s cathedral and the first of the four papal basilicas. Built by Constantine following the First Council of Nicaea in 325, the church has suffered and overcome damage and earthquakes. This is where Pope Boniface VIII announced the first Jubilee in 1300. The Constantine-era mosaics, Cosmatesque floor and ciborium remain, while the incredible “rooms of light” by Borromini can still be seen today.

Rione XV Esquilino


Connect with Roma the Eternal City